Be the best YOU you can be (part 3). There is only one of you after all.

This weeks topic on “being true to yourself” is going to be a little rant about our societies rampant Celebrity culture and how surprised I am that at nearly 22, just how many of my peers are STILL openly idolizing celebrities like they are 13. There is a difference between copying someone’s style and then trying to actually BE someone else, as though they are the Pope. Celebrities kind of are the new Religious figures, let’s be honest here. But they are NOT Holier than Thou.

This resonates strongly with me : It’s better to be a first rate version of yourself, rather than a second rate version of someone else.
Living in a world where celebrities culture is heavily drenched on us, it’s easy to get caught up in it. But remember you are not a celebrity, so while Peaches Geldoff, Paris Hilton, Kate Moss, Kim Kardashian, Ke$ha and Kelly Osbourne can fuck up, you don’t have a million dollar empire to fall back on, so us regular-folk should just stick to emulating the brat-packs fashion tastes and not their wild child ways once we reach adult hood. Adult hood is the real world, and the real world is awesome, why pretend to live in Hollywood? or the even more contemporary, Bristol?

On my journey towards full fledged adulthood, I understand there are things I must do to be taken seriously. I believe it is important to draw the line between idolizing a person, and then admiring their attributes. Of course I still admire people for things, but I do realize they are just people and I don’t know them, so why put them on a pedestal? A celebrity may be hot, but to have her hair style you don’t also need to adopt her personality.
When you are a teenager or pre-teen, it’s perfectly normal to idolize celebrities and icons but once you reach the age of 20, you should be past it. By this stage you should of come to terms with who you are and what you like, and have a broad spectrum of all different tastes and interests. Sometimes you admire this celeb for their style, sometimes that one for their achievements. For example I think the Olsen twins have cool style, and I think Michelle Williams seems like a grounded, nice person. I think Amanda Seyfried has gorgeous hair, skin and makeup, and Clemence Poesy is just all round awesome. Then there’s writers, artists and film makers who I admire for everything else- the way they speak, act and their views on life. Christopher Hitchens has the coolest way of speaking ever and can retort anyone on just about anything in a debate. I would love to be as intellectual as him, but in order to do that it doesn’t require I take up smoking too.
I also look to my friends for good qualities I like that I would like to have too. I look everywhere for inspiration, instead of to one person, similar to the way one might look to one religion for all the answers.

Celebrities are not perfect, you need to take some qualities from everywhere and adapt them to suit you.
If I acted like the girls from Jersey Shore (we all know of at least one person who falls victim to this) it would be a tragedy. Those people are tragic anyway- I figure the purpose of the show is to make fun of them, so when you see people emulating them and taking it seriously you have to shake your head. At least the people who imitate the fictional characters from Skins look stylish. It’s still sad though. I thought role-playing stopped in primary school… How wrong I was!

I look to people and celebrities now and then if I need some inspiration. But I don’t model myself on their behavior and I would never have their photo as my facebook profile picture- I mean how obvious do you need to be? Isn’t it kind of shameful that you are trying to be someone else? It’s announcing that you have no creativity or original ideas at all, you just spend all day asking yourself “What would the Kardashians do?” which is irrelevant.  You are not them after all- you are in a different country, come from a different background and everything you have is perfectly unique to you. So you have to be yourself.  You probably need a real job, for a start.

Being trashy, constantly drunk, referring to yourself as a VIP, and being rude might work for celebrities because they are incredibly rich and respected by suckers, but when a “nobody” starts giving attitude and trying to emulate someone famous- It just doesn’t translate in the real world. To me they just come across like douchebags.  So don’t be a douchebag. Be humble, be realistic and be caring towards others. At least admire the kind, down to earth, natural-looking celebrities if you have to admire someone.

Leave a Reply

